A number of GCRI member organizations provide community resources related to Financial Education and Empowerment, including assistance in income tax preparation, skilled volunteers for job search/resume/interview workshops, and financial literacy workshops on topics like credit, budgeting and buying a house.

Tax Preparation Assistance

If you need assistance in preparing your income taxes through the VITA program, please call United Way’s 2-1-1 help line (dial 211)

If you are a community-based organization and would like to become a VITA site, please contact Anne.Quinterno@uwri.org

If you would like to volunteer at a VITA site, please contact Janice.PothierPac@uwri.org

Financial Education

To request a volunteer speaker or workshop:

Bank Newport
Speakers on Financial Education Topics
Kailie Gulino, Community Relations Coordinator
Kailie.Gulino@banknewport.com or 401-845-8785

Bank of America
Speakers on Financial Education Topics
Bruno Figueiredo, Vice President, Associate Readiness
Bruno.Figueiredo@bankofamerica.com or 207-406-5083

Citizens Bank
Speakers on Financial Education Topics
Patricia DiFolco, Vice President Community Development
Patricia.DiFolco@citizensbank.com or 401-282-3703

Workshops and 1 on 1 appointments through Citizens Check Up Program
Katie Farrington, Financial Wellness Program Coordinator
Katherine.Farrington@citizensbank.com or 860-395-7820

Coastway Community Bank
Financial Wellness Topics for Adults, English/Spanish
Claudia Cardozo, Community Development Manager/CRA Officer
ccardozo@coastway.com

Fidelity Investments
Speakers on Financial Topics for Youth, Central and Northern RI
Ashlee Accetta, Community Relations Manager
ashlee.accetta@fmr.com

Pawtucket Credit Union
Financial Education Workshops
Kerri McLaughlin, Financial Education Coordinator
Kerri.McLaughlin@pcu.org or 401-729-5770

Financial Empowerment

To request a skilled volunteer for a job search/resume/interview workshop, please use the Skilled Volunteer Request Form.

LISC Rhode Island supports Financial Opportunity Centers in Providence and Woonsocket

Other Community Resources in Rhode Island for Financial Education and Empowerment

(not affiliated with GCRI )

Capital Good Fund

Connecting for Children and Families’ Center for Financial Success